Learning Area Staff

English

  • Exploring traditional literature
  • Unpacking the information world through contemporary literacy
  • Identifying the nuances of language and how that shapes society’s attitudes and values
  • Understanding alternative perspectives, learning about and applying a range of reading practices
  • Investigating the influence of the media and popular culture
  • Developing awareness of the wider world and questioning the mass amount of information students are bombarded with
  • Recognising how the spoken, written and visual language has the power to provoke and promote
  • Identifying how what is read challenges or reinforces personal values

English Foundation, General or ATAR is a requirement for all Senior School Students.

English Teaching Staff

Deb Stone: Program Coordinator Debra.Stone@education.wa.edu.au

Courtney Bryant Courtney.Bryant@education.wa.edu.au

Dallas Corunna Dallas.Corunna@education.wa.edu.au

Diana Hansen – diana.hansen@education.wa.edu.au       

Matthew Jones Matthew.Jones2@education.wa.edu.au

Rachel Mckay Rachel.Mckay2@education.wa.edu.au

Grace Richardson – Grace.Richardson@education.wa.edu.au

Louise Wulfz – Louise.Cocks2@education.wa.edu.au

Clinton Wearing – clinton.wearing@education.wa.edu.au

Mathematics

The Maths teachers at Geraldton Senior High School bring a wealth of background knowledge and interest in the application and use of mathematics in fields such as engineering, mining, building, finance, retail and many others to students of all year levels.

We use some of the most up to date educational technology in the classroom, including Computer Algebra Systems and tablets reserved for use by Mathematics students. We use the technology to help you learn and integrate applied examples into the classroom.

We offer courses for students of all levels of ability to give numeracy skills that will suit your goals in life. For senior school students, Geraldton Senior High School provides Mathematics Foundation, Essentials, Applications, Methods, and Specialists.

Mathematics Teaching Staff

Chris Hall : Program Coordinator christopher.hall@education.wa.edu.au

Yamina Ahderom Yamina.Ahderom@education.wa.edu.au

Asra Anjum – asra.anjum@education.wa.edu.au

Narrelle Bate Narrelle.Bate@education.wa.edu.au

Michelle Childs – michelle.scott@education.wa.edu.au    

Grant Dodd Grant.Dodd@education.wa.edu.au

Stephen Giles Stephen.Giles@education.wa.edu.au

Marie Klein Marie.Klein@education.wa.edu.au

Nicholas Mondello Nicholas.Mondello@education.wa.edu.au

Chloe Schelfhout – Chloe.Schelfhout@education.wa.edu.au

Science

The Science department offers a range of courses suited to both academic and non-academic students. Our enthusiastic and experienced staff and technicians are committed to ensuring each student reaches their full potential as life-long learners.

The science curriculum promotes awareness of our place in, and impact on, the environment and society. Students are taught to recognise that scientific understandings evolve and must be adapted to reflect new discoveries. We encourage everyone to think critically and take problem-solving skills to the next level.

Science is a core subject in WA and is studied by all students in Year 7 to 10. Our Year 7 to 10 courses are linked to real-world applications and follow the WA Science curriculum. Students may also select to study ATAR or General courses in science in Year 11 and 12.

Our ATAR courses are academically challenging and suited to students hoping to gain university selection or those who wish to understand these subjects in more detail: Biology, Chemistry, Human Biology and Physics.

General courses include: Marine and Maritime Technology and Human Biology.

Science Teaching Staff

Ben Errington: Program Coordinator – Benjamin.Errington@education.wa.edu.au

Levah Bairstow – levah.bairstow@education.wa.edu.au   

Jed Faeldan – Jed.Faeldan@education.wa.edu.au

Ashlee Farmer – Ashlee.Farmer2@education.wa.edu.au

Kayleigh Kimber – Kayleigh.Kimber@education.wa.edu.au

Nina Kyprianidis – nina.kyprianidis@education.wa.edu.au

Samsinar Safian – Samsinar.Safian@education.wa.edu.au

Shruti Shruti – Shruti.Shruti@education.wa.edu.au

Humanities & Social Sciences

The Humanities & Social Science department covers a range of humanities subjects that allow our students to enhance their knowledge of the world and world issues. Studying ancient and modern history, geography, tourism, economics, politics, law, cultural studies, civics and citizenship provides opportunity and confidence to communicate in a variety of situations with a diverse range of people.

In Senior school students have a choice of General or ATAR subjects – Geography and Modern History.

Humanities and Social Sciences Teaching Staff

Claire Annison: Program Coordinator – Claire.Leitch@education.wa.edu.au

Courtney Evans – Courtney.Evans@education.wa.edu.au

Diana Hansen – Diana.Hansen@education.wa.edu.au

Simon Keemink – Simon.Keemink@education.wa.edu.au

Jessika Little – Jessika.Little@education.wa.edu.au

Kristie Murphy – Kristie.Murphy@education.wa.edu.au

Hayley Trigg  – Hayley.Trigg@education.wa.edu.au

Technologies

Design & Technology offers students the opportunity to undertake practical work with national recognised qualifications as well as participate in highly valued community projects and excursions. Subjects offered include automotive workshop, building and construction, jewellery, metalwork and woodwork.

Business & Computing offers students both vocational and academic pathways. It is an area of the school where students can develop skills using the latest technology in modern computing labs. Our Business and Computing teaching staff have broad experience in both industry and education having worked in the public and private sectors. Courses include Applied Information Technology (ATAR and General), Business Management and Enterprise (General), Year 10 Computing, Certificate II in Business and Certificate II in Information, Digital Media and Technology.

Home Economics offers ‘hands-on’ courses for students passionate to develop skills and practices related to independent living.  We provide practical learning experiences to produce nutritious foods, the construction of garments and accessories and the knowledge and skills required for working safely with children. Students develop the key skills of independence, responsibility, cooperation and understanding within all our courses.

Lower school courses in Food and Nutrition, Fashion and Textiles and Child Care and senior school courses in Food Science and Technology and Children Family and Community.

Enan Hann: Program Coordinator – Enan.Hann@education.wa.edu.au

Tara Curtin – tara.curtin@education.wa.edu.au   

Carly Gray – carly.gray@education.wa.edu.au      

Jen Heath – Jenny.Heath@education.wa.edu.au

Kim Read –Kim.Read2@education.wa.edu.au

Samsinar Safian – Samsinar.Safian@education.wa.edu.au

Emma Scally – emma.scally@education.wa.edu.au         

David Stratford – David.Stratford@education.wa.edu.au

Hendrix Stone – Hendrix.Stone@education.wa.edu.au

Helen Wearing – helen.wearing@education.wa.edu.au    

The Arts

All Arts subjects encourage creativity, experimentation and exploration and can be studied in all year levels. Individual areas of study include: Visual Art (ATAR, Cert II and General), Sculpture, Photography, Printmaking, Graphic Design (DIG), Pottery, Dance, Drama, Music (ATAR and General) and Media Production and Analysis.

The Arts Teaching Staff 

Visual Arts/Media

Mike Thomas: Program Coordinator – Michael.Thomas@education.wa.edu.au

Katie Hood – Katie.Hood@education.wa.edu.au

Luke Bassett-Scarfe – Luke.Bassett-Scarfe@education.wa.edu.au

Music

James Booth – James.Booth@education.wa.edu.au

Instrumental Music School Services 

Leonie Courtney – Leonie.Courtney@education.wa.edu.au

Josh Crothers – Josh.Crothers@education.wa.edu.au

Anne Williams – Anne.Williams4@education.wa.edu.au

Alida Wright – Alida.Wright@education.wa.edu.au

Dance/Drama

Jessica Swift jessica.swift@education.wa.edu.au

Health & Physical Education

Health and Physical Education aims to provide a wide range of relevant courses to meet the needs and interests of our students. Our staff are skilled in numerous areas, come from diverse backgrounds and are fully committed to deliver opportunities to achieve personal excellence and become valuable contributors to the wider community.

Year 11 and 12 students at Geraldton Senior College are offered a variety of educational options including Physical Education Studies and/or Outdoor Education courses as well as provided a chance to gain a Certificate II in Sport and Recreation.

The Outdoor Education program includes many land-based and several practical water-based activities. Expeditions, excursions and camps are regularly included in the Outdoor Education curriculum, including visits to the Kalbarri National Park, Tamala Station and Greenough River.

The Physical Education Studies program is offered to students at the General level as well as to students completing an ATAR pathway. The General course focuses on selected sports and students will learn about anatomy, biomechanics, physiology and coaching in theory classes. 

The Health & Physical Teaching Education Staff 

Zoe Sellers: Program Coordinator – Zoe.Sellers@education.wa.edu.au

Tim Bowdell – Timothy.Bowdell@education.wa.edu.au

Claire Garnaut – Claire.Garnaut@education.wa.edu.au

Alex Hadley-Rudolph – Alex.Hadley-Rudolph@education.wa.edu.au

Geordie Murray – Geordie.Murray@education.wa.edu.au

Brad Robinson – Bradley.Robinson2@education.wa.edu.au

Jaylen Parsons – jaylen.parsons@education.wa.edu.au    

Rhys Andreatta – rhys.andreatta@education.wa.edu.au